BRLI Honors Community Service

The Bangor Region Leadership Institute (BRLI) has given its prestigious G. Clifton Eames Award to the leader of an organization that helps women enter the workforce and lead more productive lives. Jane Searles, regional manager and micro-enterprise trainer for the Maine Centers for Women Work and Community, was honored at BRLI’s graduation dinner on May 11. The Eames award is given annually to a person who has been through the leadership institute’s training and has made a positive impact through community service.

Searles is a 2001 graduate of BRLI. She was honored not only for her work in helping women start successful businesses and careers but also for an extensive resume of community service. Among the groups, Searles has volunteered with in the past are the Bangor Region Chamber of Commerce board of directors, Maine Women’s Fund board of directors, Noontime Kiwanis board, Penobscot Job Corps Community Relations Council, City of Bangor Economic Development Advisory Council, Spruce Run domestic violence project board, Tuesday forum, University of Maine Women’s Resource Center board, and the Children’s Miracle Network.

“It is clear from the list, that Jane’s passions encompass social and economic justice issues,” said Rebecca Hobbs, a local accountant and a graduate of BRLI who nominated Searles for the Eames honor.

The BRLI dinner concluded another successful year for the institute.

2011 BRLI Graduates

Lisa Bird – Bangor Savings Bank
Jason Brown – Day’s Jewelers
Mark Chambers – WBRC Architects Engineers
Kevan Clements – Affiliated Healthcare Systems
Katherine Cormier – Penobscot Community Health Care
Edner Mae Fago – Independent Artist and Media Producer
Beth Grant – Bangor Daily News
Casey Harris – Manna, Ministries Inc.
Ken Kimball – Links Website Design & Online Marketing
Randi McHugh – ABM Mechanical
David McPhail – Overhead Door Company of Bangor
Sue Medley – Gladjean Consulting
Jeremiah Miner – Key Bank
Yury Nabokov – NESCOM
Roland Narofsky – Maine Savings Federal Credit Union
Kendra Overlock – Bangor Hydro Electric Company
Ralph Patterson – Bangor Federal Credit Union
Rebecca Perkins – University College of Bangor
Jonathan Pottle – Eaton Peabody
Shelly Reilly – Eastern Maine Development Corporation
Jodi Reynolds – Berry, Dunn, McNeil & Parker
Joe Roberts – University of Maine Athletic Department
Joanna Russell – TriCounty Workforce Investment Board
David Sands – WLBZ 2
Travis Wallace – University of Maine Mechanical Engineering
Monica Woodside – Smart Eyecare Center
Shelby Wright – Self Employed